Monday, January 30, 8958

Erling Wold (b. 1958) / Art Objects

Erling Wold (b. 1958)

A Little Girl Dreams of Taking the Veil


Sub Pontio Pilato: Credo


Erling Wold (b. January 30, 1958) is a San Francisco based composer of opera and contemporary classical music. He is best known for his later chamber operas, especially A Little Girl Dreams of Taking the Veil and his early experiments as a microtonalist. Although he rejected religion in his teens, he returned many times to religious themes in his works, including many of his operatic works, and his mass named for Notker the Stammerer commissioned by the Cathedral of St Gall. His earliest music was atonal and arrhythmic, but the influences of just intonation and the music of the minimalists led to the bulk of his music being composed in a variety of tonal genres. He was attracted by the theater and much of his music is either directly dramatic or is based on dramatic rather than purely musical structures. Wold is an eclectic composer who has also been called "the Eric Satie of Berkeley surrealist/minimalist electro-art rock" by the Village Voice. He composed the soundtracks for a number of films by the independent film director Jon Jost.


Jeanette Winterson (b. August 27, 1959, Manchester, UK) was raised in Accrington, Lancashire, by adoptive parents Constance and John William Winterson. Intending to become a Pentecostal Christian missionary, she began evangelising and writing sermons at age six, but by 16 Winterson declared she was lesbian and left home.

She soon after attended Accrington and Rossendale College and supported herself at a variety of odd jobs while reading for a degree in English at St Catherine's College, Oxford.

After moving to London, her first novel, Oranges Are Not the Only Fruit, was published when she was 26 years old. It won the 1985 Whitbread Prize for a First Novel, and was adapted for television by Winterson in 1990, which in turn won the BAFTA Award for Best Drama. She won the 1987 John Llewellyn Rhys Prize for The Passion, a novel set in Napoleonic Europe.

Winterson's subsequent novels explore the boundaries of physicality and the imagination, gender polarities, and sexual identities, and have won several literary awards. Her stage adaptation of The PowerBook in 2002 opened at the Royal National Theatre, London. She also bought a derelict terraced house in Spitalfields, East London, which she refurbished into a flat as a pied-a-terre and a ground-floor shop, Verde's, to sell organic food.

In 2002, Winterson ended her 12-year relationship with BBC radio broadcaster and academic, Peggy Reynolds.

Her novel Written on the Body was inspired by her affair with Pat Kavanagh, her literary agent.


Oranges Are Not the Only Fruit (1985)
Boating for Beginners (1985)
Fit For The Future: The Guide for Women Who Want to Live Well (1986)
The Passion (1987)
Sexing the Cherry (1989)
Oranges Are Not The Only Fruit: the script (1990)
Written on the Body (1992)
Art & Lies: A Piece for Three Voices and a Bawd (1994)
Great Moments in Aviation: the script (1995)
Art Objects (1995)
Gut Symmetries (1997)
The World and Other Places (1998)
The PowerBook (2000)
The King of Capri (2003)
Lighthousekeeping (2004)
Weight (2005)
Tanglewreck (2006)
The Stone Gods (2007)
The Battle of the Sun (2009)
The Lion, The Unicorn and Me: The Donkey's Christmas Story (2009)

[1958 Prince / 1958 Wold / 1957 Tan Dun]