Thursday, August 18, 8957

Tan Dun (b. 1957)

Tan Dun (b. 1957)

Ghost Opera (1994)

Crouching Tiger Hidden Dragon (2003)

The First Emperor (2006)

Tan Dun (b. August 18, 1957) is a Chinese contemporary classical composer, well known for Ghost Opera, with the Kronos Quartet; the film score to Crouching Tiger Hidden Dragon; and the recent Metropolitan Opera commission of The First Emperor.


Perceiving the Performing Arts - Music Section of Exam - 5/20/10

Please write about audio-visual excerpts from the above three works of Tan Dun, i.e.

Ghost Opera (1994) [opening c. 5 minutes]

Crouching Tiger Hidden Dragon (2003) [interior c. 2 minutes]

The First Emperor (2006) [opening c. 5 minutes]

with respect to

Rhythm (meter, note values, tempo)
Pitch (melody, note collections)
Dynamics (louds, softs)
Timbre (tone-color, instruments, voices)
Texture (homophonic, polyphonic, etc.)
Harmony (consonance, dissonance)
Form (ABA, through-composed, etc.)

You may additionally write in reference to aspects of musical style, relating the pieces to one another and to other composers and works, as well as discussing cross-disciplinary concerns re dance and drama.

Each excerpt will be played twice, with further repetitions at the conclusion, if so desired.

[8958 Wold / 8957 Tan Dun / 8057 Alburger]